Ash Wednesday

I begin.  I pray that this will benefit me and anyone who reads this.  I am not looking for readers.  Then why a blog?  I don’t really know how to explain the benefits I received during my first blogging adventure.  I felt the same rush today.  I thought all day – what do I say?, where do I start?  I thought of many things to write about, reflect upon and do.  I was immobilized earlier and I still am not sure what will happen as I write.  The reflecting and thinking was like prayer for me but took me out of my normal patterns of conversation with the Lord.  This is what I need but I am not sure it is what the Lord wants for me or us.

I do feel more at peace as I write.  I hope my efforts will be pleasing to Him.  Where to start?  I am a sinner, pray for me.  Lord, have mercy on me.  Look upon me with a loving and kind gaze.  Help me to look on others with the same gaze.  I often fail at charity toward others. It is all about me.  So much so that I am ungrateful for all the wonderful things around me, the wonderful relationships I have, and the blessings I have received.  The Lord sees my ingratitude even when I pretend or try to hide it.  Today’s Gospel reading speaks to God’s sight.  What am I in God’s sight?  I don’t like thinking about that.  Yet, that is what Lent is – transforming what is to what it should be.

So, thank you Father for all you have given, everything I am and have come from you.

Forgive me Father for I have sinned.

I am going to explore Catholic prayers for a while:  I found this at this website, Daily Word of Life:  Favorite Catholic Prayers at  http://www.daily-word-of-life.com/catholic_prayers.htm  I thought it was appropriate for my purpose and the liturgical season.

Prayer Before a Crucifix
Behold, O kind and most sweet Jesus, I cast myself upon my knees in your sight, and with the most fervent desire of my soul I pray and beseech that you would impress upon my heart lively sentiments of Faith, Hope and Charity, true repentance for my sins and a firm purpose of amendment, while with deep affection and grief of soul I ponder within myself and mentally contemplate your five most precious wounds, having before my eyes that which David spoke in prophecy of you, O good Jesus: “They have pierced my hands and feet, they have numbered all my bones.” Amen

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Just praying, Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

