Faith

The title of the blog is “A Faithful Year”.  I hope to blog for the entire year.  For Lent, it is an every day obligation.  Tonight I want to reflect on the word Faithful.  In some ways it is my small question – Will I be faithful to my promise? In another way it is that larger question – am I faithful? What is faith?

I think faith is a combination of belief, trust and being.  We all have faith in something, someone.   Some of us have other kinds of faith that others often refer to as religion.  Religion is not necessarily Faith.  But, what do I believe in?  I believe in God.  I believe in Jesus Christ, his Son.  I believe in the Holy Spirit.  Do these alone constitute faith?  I don’t know.  This will probably prompt a debate on justification for some but that’s not my level of thinking.  If I believe but don’t trust – do I have faith?, am I faithful?  If I don’t live my faith – be my faith, do I have anything at all?  These are my questions to myself.

I often struggle between doubt and belief.  More so in the past ten years than in the first forty.  At the same time, I often feel a core of strength within me that stands up to the doubt more now than I did before.  Where does that come from?  It literally feels like a leap of faith.  But in those moments of doubt, I don’t trust or do I? Is faith something that goes beyond our intellect?  If we “live and move and have our being in Him” (Acts 17:28) – is faith an invisible connector to God? Is it an internal realization and recognition that we are children of God? How do we merit this understanding?

I don’t know the answers to these questions and I know in the next few weeks, I’ll be all over the place with them, or pieces of them, or in avoidance of them.  Maybe by the end of the year of Faith, I’ll be able to express answers to them.  May my faith and faithfulness increase.

Tonight’s prayer is a Prayer for the Virtue of Faith from Catholic Online at http://www.catholic.org/prayers/prayer.php?p=1557

Jesus, Your faith was in the Heavenly Father, Your steadfastness being my living model! Kindly grant me the richness of such faith, To embrace Your Father as my true Provider, Having staunch belief in His eminent powers And to remain loyal to Him until my last day. If my faith shifts as temporary waves, Rush to my rescue without any hesitation, Protecting others from my fleeting frailty. May Your Presence always be lively enjoyed, Enabling me to shine as a flame of faith. My faith loyally reaches out to You!

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Purpose, questioning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

