Day three

I titled this Day three because I have no theme as I begin to write.  I have thought on and off all day about it. But, work was busy and dinner was busy.  I only now have time to think and reflect.  Do I bring God to others?  I think that is the question of the day and of today’s events.  Do I bring and use my faith in my interactions or do I mindlessly go about my tasks- another alienated worker disconnected from others and the meaning of the tasks?  How about at home? How about elsewhere?

I hide.  I think that is true of me.  Everyone knows I’m a churchgoer and involved but I hold my tongue.  I go along to get along.  I smile when an insulting joke is made.  Perhaps I shouldn’t.

I also think I bring kindness to my interactions, I pray for inspiration, I beg for help.  This is also about being faithful and bringing God.

How do I merge the two? That is the challenge I think.  Last night after I wrote and explored for the appropriate prayer for my reflection, I had a very interesting time searching and finding the one that had the most meaning.  I did not think it would take as long as it did nor that the search itself would be as helpful as it was.  I know I am on the right path in my current way of thinking about my purpose.  I write this because I want to share a bit of the excitement I feel as I go to the other open browser to browse.  I hope that experience will be re-enacted but more, I hope I find the prayer that will not only give meaning to my reflection but communicate to the Lord my thoughts and needs.

And so, I searched and my search’s first hit took me to today’s readings.  I contemplated cutting and pasting part of the first reading.  It was my fall back but wasn’t what I was really looking for.  My search words also brought up a page for the Liturgy of the Hours.  I read the evening and night prayers, all helpful but not what I wanted to post.  I scrolled down a few more hits.  The ones that I skipped asked you to put in your prayer requests.  I recognized the next site as the one I used on Ash Wednesday so I clicked and skimmed the page.  There it was – in plain sight and the irony was not lost on me – the Prayer of Saint Francis.  Why did I search for it?  Why did it not just come to my mind as the perfect prayer for what ails me tonight?  Here is the version I found on Catholic prayers:Daily Word of Life.

Lord, make me an instrument of Your peace. Where there is hatred, let me sow love; where there is injury, pardon; where there is doubt, faith; where there is despair, hope; where there is  darkness, light; and where there is sadness, joy. O Divine Master, grant that I may not so much seek to be consoled as to console; to be understood as to understand; to be loved as to love; for it is in giving that we receive; it is in pardoning that we are pardoned; and it is in dying that we are born to eternal life. Amen

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Just praying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

