Master

In the prayer of Saint Francis, the Lord is called Master.  St. Teresa of Avila often calls the Lord – Master.  I’d like to think of the Lord as my Master yet I know I hold back.  I don’t let Him in.  How can I follow Him more completely?  Master not only means “in charge” but guide and teacher to me.  Will I let Jesus teach me?

What can Jesus teach me?  He is the Way, the Truth and the Light.  What does this really mean?  What is the Way?  He tells people to leave everything and follow Him. The one young man can’t.  I feel like that young man.  I don’t know how and don’t want to abandon everything.  I want the Lord to give, not me.  I find that strange – illogical.  It is also the truth.  I don’t give to him, I don’t leave my life and follow Him.  I think Lent is always about leaving part of yourself behind to follow Him.   I need to back up and find the road- what is the Way?

In today’s Gospel, Jesus went into the desert.  The road starts in the desert. I have been in the desert. I am in the desert.  I know the desert – this is a space I know.  I do not resist temptation.  Is this the first way out of the desert? or is prayer the first?

I will go with prayer about temptation as the beginning of the path.  Perhaps, I will also let the angels and the Lord minister to me. Perhaps I will let go of one my temptations – one of the ones I do not overcome.  I have many.

In the Evening Prayers, tonight’s reading is from 1 Peter 2 and reads:

“Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, to follow in his path.
He committed no sin, in his speech there was no deceit;
when they cursed him, he did not curse them;
when he suffered, he did not threaten retribution, but committed them to the one just judge.”

I shall contemplate and act on this reminder of Christ’s path.  At the end of the Evening Prayers, we pray the “Our Father”.  That is tonight’s prayer – lead me from temptation.

Our Father, who are in heaven, hallowed be thy name.  Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven.  Give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us.  And, lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil. Amen.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in path, Purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

