Magnify the Lord

In the evening prayers that I have discovered this Lent, I say the Magnificat.  This isn’t a new prayer to me but it has always been one of my favorite New Testament Readings.  John Michael Talbot’s musical rendition of it has also appealed to me. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9aYecuDlDYM).  Tonight it expresses my thanks for the Lord’s help to me in the last few days of a challenging two weeks.  I can only give thanks.

My soul proclaims the greatness of the Lord,
  and my spirit rejoices in God, my salvation.
For he has shown me such favour –
  me, his lowly handmaiden.
Now all generations will call me blessed,
  because the mighty one has done great things for me.
His name is holy,
  his mercy lasts for generation after generation
  for those who revere him. (from http://www.universalis.com/-500/vespers.htm)
About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in thanks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

