The usefulness of faith

As I look back on my week, which was one of the most challenging in many years, I realize I could not have gotten through it without faith.  As I look around the office at my colleagues I wonder – how do they get through the awfulness of our human interactions? Faith is off the table for discussion but I think they must have faith or we would never get through this.  Now, their faith might not be mine but  faith in something bigger than themselves, in ideals at the very least is needed and evident.  Otherwise we would not survive and we’d become a jungle.  My workplace is not a jungle – it just has some nasty nettles and snakes in the underbrush.  How do we manage to keep our humanity?  For me,  faith is present.

Faith doesn’t just mean believing, and doing, it means holding fast to that reality of the spiritual in the world.  Many just refer to this as values.  I will continue to hold fast to my paradigm – St. Paul’s paradigm – that in Him we live and He is Love.  This is empowering.  This makes me understand my fellow human being as a child of God who inhabits the same space.  It also makes me remember the space is God’s – it is sacred space.  I forget this in good times.  In good times, it is free space.  In bad times, it is God’s and there is grace there if we look for it to help us.  My challenge, of course, is to make it God’s space even in the good times!  But tonight, I recognize the usefulness of faith in these times and that I recognize God’s space.

I often am cowardly and anxious but the Lord has given me Grace this week.  Praise Him, I will.

So, in my search for the best prayer to express myself tonight, I came across many good ones.  I settled on this – not my vault but the Church’s standard that I say most Sundays.  It is Lent so we don’t say it.  I’m sure that the Lord will not mind if I say it tonight:

The Gloria
Glory to God in the highest. And on earth peace to men of good will. We praise You. We bless You. We adore you. We glorify You. We give You thanks for Your great glory. O Lord God, heavenly King, God the Father almighty. O Lord Jesus Christ, the Only-begotten Son. O Lord God, Lamb of God, Son of the Father: you Who take away the sins of the world, have mercy on us. You Who take away the sins of the world, receive our prayer. You Who sit at the right hand of the Father, have mercy on us. For you alone are holy. You alone are the Lord. You alone, O Jesus Christ, are most high. Together with the Holy Spirit in the glory of God the Father. Amen.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in praise. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

