Grace

The Novena of Grace has always been a helpful prayer experience.  In my family it is a generational thing.  I remember my grandmother saying it.  Part of the main prayer is the plea for the grace to live a holy life and experience a holy death.  Simple.

Why do I make faith hard?  It is simple- live a holy life.  I put up my own obstacles to this – me, not others.  I put up barriers to love.  I am uncharitable.  I don’t live in hope.  And, I forget about the Lord’s grace.  My grandmother’s name was Grace.  The two intertwine tonight, history/memory with always.  The Lord is always providing grace to us to live a holy life.  I need to say – yes, and accept them, just as I always trusted my grandmother.  I make it hard.

The Magnificat which I prayed several days ago now is a reminder of what happens when one says ‘YES’ to God.  Mary’s ‘yes’ open the way.  Before praying the novena, I think I should say:

Hail Mary, Full of Grace, the Lord is with thee.  Blessed are thee among women and blest is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.

Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

Another grouping of ideas to ponder – Grace, holiness, hour of our death.

 

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

