Someone left a comment

I received a comment inviting me to “pay it forward”.  I’m not quite sure I’m ready to engage in more than what I’m doing.  For one thing, even though I have a year’s experience under my belt from my other blogging attempt – I’m still figuring out how to post.  Second, I’m not quite sure that I want to get more involved on the internet.  Finally, during Lent, this is just about my Lenten journey but after Lent, I might be open to exploring more.  I hope the commenter understands and if I had more confidence, I’d write directly.  Thank you!

The really cool thing about the comment is that there are so many people sharing many things including the Good News.  There is community.  Faith can exist without community but it flourishes with community.  I’m too much of a Vatican II child to think faith is synonymous with community.  I’ve lived through too many failed Church and parish attempts at building community.  You cannot manufacture community, it is organic.  That is why community can be powerful.

One of the changes of the “new” translation which is really overdue is the change from saying “we believe” to “I believe” in the creed.  I can hide behind the “we” when going to Mass.  I am not participating by saying “we”.  I am participating by saying “I”.  I am putting myself out there – I’m saying “me too”.  I’m taking ownership.  I’ve read online that some people dislike that particular change.  They say it is abandoning community, that it is “going back”.  Perhaps it is going back but it is not abandoning community – far from it.  It makes me responsible for what I believe.  In reciting it together – the “we” is formed but so is the “I”.  Funny, I bet if I met those people they’d all talk about owning your own feelings etc.  Why not own belief?

Tonight’s prayer is the Nicene Creed.  I found it online here.  I’m having trouble pasting it so I’ll just follow the link.  I own my belief.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in belief. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

