Dissenting Priests

I’m in a mood today that was only made worse by several articles on the WEB in which dissenting priests and bishops are being endorsed by mainstream media such as the New York Times and the National Catholic Reporter.  While I find the NYT to be biased against Catholics and Catholicism, it is a secular paper.  The “independent” National Catholic Reporter claims to be Catholic but they offer an alternative Catholic Church, one that dissents.  I pray for them because they harm the faithful.  They target the faithful and help plant seeds of not only doubt but mistrust.  This is not to say that they haven’t exposed corruption etc. In fact, they are good at that.  They just don’t get faith matters right but in their blindness, they think they do.  As I’ve written before and as many who have experienced worse will attest, the worst blow to a person’s faith is from within the community, not from without.  And, although faith doesn’t depend on community, community does matter and is important.  I don’t understand why my brothers and sisters don’t see the plank in their own eye.  I am all too well aware of my own planks, including the anger and bitterness that underscore this blog entry.  I don’t understand this in priests most of all.  I’m supposed to admire priests who bash other priests, bishops and the pope in public???????????? I’m supposed to think they are Christian???, trustworthy themselves???  Are they really true whistleblowers or just dissenters, disgruntled because they are not listened to?  There is a difference between exposing corruption in the Church and exposing us to dissenters posing as prophets. I wish the NCR could differentiate more.

I think I will explore forgiveness for a while.  Lent is running its course, I ask to be forgiven, I need to learn more about it. I need to forgive NCR and the dissenting priests.

I found this online and it seemed to speak to me tonight.  It comes from here:http://www.marypages.com/PrayerstoOurLord.htm

Prayer Advice for Forgiveness

Hold in your mind someone you find it hard to forgive (this may be yourself also)
When you are ready pray for that person, asking God to love and bless them.
Be specific and generous in your prayer.

If you find anger still there tell God about that, don’t pretend.
You will be able to forgive when the time comes.

If you will see this person again imagine yourself being different with them,
the difference forgiveness will make.

If you won’t see them again or if they have died simply open your hands
to let go of the anger and hand them over to God.

If you are not ready to forgive yet simply pray for the grace of forgiveness.
There is no need to feel guilty, forgiveness takes time and healing.

If the anger is still strong you may need to find a way to let it out.
A way that is safe and doesn’t harm anyone,
such as punching a pillow or throwing rocks into the sea.

Thank God for this time of prayer.
Amen.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in forgiveness, Praying about priests, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

