Themes

I’m not sure I’m making any progress.  I look over my posts and see the same themes with little understanding or growth.  I think my last post needs acting on so I will concentrate on not tearing down by venting but in looking for the essences of “things” like other people’s dignity, worth and humanity.  I shall look to the plank in my own eye first before throwing stones at others.  I will think and pray about this.

Since it is St. Patrick’s day I first searched for attributed to him or by him.  I reread his Breastplate prayer but it didn’t hit my heart.  On the other hand a Prayer to St. Brigid did.  According to the Website I copied this from (http://www.catholic-saints.info/catholic-prayers/prayer-to-saint-brigid.htm), this is Ireland’s Brigid or Bridget and not Sweden’s.  But I don’t really think it matters because it does fit tonight.  I’m just changing the plural to the singular…..  I also liked a prayer to Our Lady of Perpetual Help so I said that too along with all the others.

Saint Brigid
You were a woman of peace.
You brought harmony where there was conflict.
You brought light to the darkness.
You brought hope to the downcast.
May the mantle of your peace cover those who are troubled and anxious,
and may peace be firmly rooted in our hearts and in our world.
Inspire us to act justly and to reverence all God has made.
Brigid you were a voice for the wounded and the weary.
Strengthen what is weak within us.
Calm us into a quietness that heals and listens.
May we grow each day into greater wholeness in mind, body and spirit.
Amen

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Just praying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

