self-pity and pride

Self-pity and pride are my two basic problems as I continue to reflect on where I need to grow in living my faith.  Both of these hit me in the face everyday.  They keep me from truly giving to others.  They are my own traps for myself.  Pride is the hardest to overcome for me so I will put it aside -but just for awhile.  Self-pity is so destructive when based on nothing and mine is based on nothing.  I have been given much and I want more.  More – wanting – more.  I’m a spoiled brat.   It is a wonder that people stick with me but I suppose it is a shared human trait. I found this helpful pamphlet http://www.catholicpamphlets.net/pamphlets/ARE%20YOU%20A%20VICTIM%20OF%20SELF-PITY.pdf

There is a hymn I like a lot –Shepherd me O Lord based on Psalm 23.  That is tonight’s prayer/meditation.  Shepherd me beyond my wants, beyond my fears from death into life.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in help needed, Just praying, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

