respite over??

I’m not sure I can call being away a respite as I wasn’t planning on regular writing after Lent.  Tonight I thought that if I didn’t write, I would get out of any type of habit.

I am very disquieted at the moment.  Angry even.  My faith was tested many years ago by learning that one of the nuns who taught us was really a lesbian sexual predator.  Now, I know someone reading this – if anyone does, will decide that this is a mean spirited attack.  However, this nun was removed from ministry for her “inappropriate” touches….  I’m glad the order acted.  However, my faith was tested.  It wasn’t tested so much by her and her action as much as what I discovered about the order and their priorities.  It made me re-evaluate what had been in my face since childhood.  These women of God were not so good at it.  Psychologists may say they were repressed.  Our culture may say that they have been reborn by Vatican II which unleashed their spirits and gave them new direction. Perhaps all of this is true but when I’ve read the LCWR website and info, it is clear that these women are so far from spreading the Gospel that they no longer represent the faith.  They and their supporters can claim all they want about patriarchy but having lived under their matriarchy and listening to them bully us by playing the “woman’s” card, they appear lost.  They don’t even see that they are lost which is even more telling.  I have and will continue to pray for them.  Many do good work.  There’s the rub they are good in whatever profession they have taken up – but truly as women of God, I have no faith in their brand of my religion.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in renewal of nuns and priests. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

