Back to School

Well the hectic days of the end of summer are over. Out of town company came and went.  Everyone is back at school.  And, now it is time to really prepare for the Year of Faith.  While I was quiet on these pages, I wasn’t so quiet trolling the WEB at times trying to see what I’d really like to do.  What would be meaningful?  I voiced my opinions and thoughts here about before too.  Still, I haven’t decided what to do.

I don’t know why I’m not focusing but I’m not.  I feel too many inspirations instead of no inspirations.  I cannot separate my desire for more knowledge from my fear that we really are in and entering into a deeper phase of religious intolerance here in the US.  It seems to me that those who disagree with the Church are ever more vicious and intolerant than what they accuse of us.  I would like to fervently pray and preach because of it.  And yet, I don’t think that is what a Year of Faith is.  Nor do I think that is what faith is.  Is faith anger and fighting? NO, it isn’t.  Evangelization isn’t compulsion, it is presentation. It is martyrdom for the presenter.  Isn’t that what we are called to do?

I also feel the need to work on me.

I was depressed to read that in Connecticut, Catholics are upset that the archbishop rebuked a priest for doing a reading at the same sex marriage ceremony of his cousin.  He wanted to be there for his cousin and so he was.  But he was also in uniform, performing a ministerial function.  I am not upset at the archbishop for giving a rebuke.  But it prompts the larger question:  When a family member is in a same sex relationship, what is our attitude? what is our level of support?  These are more difficult questions.  But it seems to me that if the laity truly want the power they have in the Church instead of pointing fingers at clericalism, we need to own our own faith.  We might need to be martyrs in our own families.  We may need to say that society condones what is happening here but I don’t.  That is hard.  What would Jesus do?  I think we know that he would not be the nice hippie Jesus who tolerates all here.  He’d say:  I love you but you are doing wrong, repent and come back to the Father.  Vatican II asked us to take ownership of our faith, not water it down by making it part of our culture.   But I am depressed for I think I would go to my cousin’s ceremony and not say a word.

I don’t want to be a martyr.  Maybe that is the starting place?

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in courage, Year of Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

