Getting Ready

The Year of Faith is coming closer.  Today’s first reading reminded me of what faith is about.  I have read this reading several times in my years as a lector.   I get chills reading it every time.  I aspire to be this faithful.  This is taken from the US Conference of Bishops page here.

Reading 1 Is 50:5-9a

The Lord GOD opens my ear that I may hear;
and I have not rebelled,
have not turned back.
I gave my back to those who beat me,
my cheeks to those who plucked my beard;
my face I did not shield
from buffets and spitting.The Lord GOD is my help,
therefore I am not disgraced;
I have set my face like flint,
knowing that I shall not be put to shame.
He is near who upholds my right;
if anyone wishes to oppose me,
let us appear together.
Who disputes my right?
Let that man confront me.
See, the Lord GOD is my help;
who will prove me wrong?
I say – Amen.  I shall also say – I will pray about how to move forward towards this ideal.
I will listen.
I will stop rebelling, I will not turn back.
I will not run but I will give my back, cheeks and face to those who will abuse me for my faith.
I will remember that the Lord God is my help and will stop being fearful and ashamed.  I will set my face and soul like flint in my belief that the Lord God is and He is my help.
About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in belief, Year of Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

