a little late

I have had a very hectic week and so I am late posting.  I am also not following my plan.  I got off to a good start but got derailed.  Normally I would feel guilty but I am a member of 2 parish committees that had activities this week.  One was very profound.  I went to a conference with 2 others on divorce and remarriage.  The priest presenter was very good, very pastoral.  I learned a lot about annulments but also the pastoral care of those whose marriages cannot be annulled.

All my activities had me thinking about the old-fashioned way of thinking about faith – bearing witness.  How do we all bear witness?, not belonging?  I think most of us bear witness by belonging, claiming membership, etc. But do I bear witness to Christ or to membership?  The re-married couple who goes to Church regularly challenges me.  Some would claim they do not belong.  They have given up membership.  I have not thought this but have been judgmental.  I’m rethinking this in many ways.  If they don’t go to communion, aren’t they bearing witness to something, especially when judged by us? Don’t I sin and still claim membership?    I think that I bear witness to myself and not to Christ when I judge.

From Sunday, this speaks to me:

Heb 4:14-16

Brothers and sisters:
Since we have a great high priest who has passed through the heavens,
Jesus, the Son of God,
let us hold fast to our confession.
For we do not have a high priest
who is unable to sympathize with our weaknesses,
but one who has similarly been tested in every way,
yet without sin.
So let us confidently approach the throne of grace
to receive mercy and to find grace for timely help.

I shall ask for mercy.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in courage, forgiveness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

