Tragedy

Tonight, I am reeling from the pain being suffered in Newtown.  I cannot fathom such evil.  Innocents being slaughtered for no reason.  I am far from the scene.  I cannot help or comfort.  I cannot help my students or children deal with their own reactions.  There is nothing that can explain it.  I am proud of the teachers and late principal.  First responders are in my prayers.  All are in my prayers.

Events like this test my faith.  They test the why:  why do people suffer? I don’t have an answer but I do know that God is near all who are suffering.  It is in our suffering that he is the closest.  I ask Him but know I do not have to ask Him, to help those suffering.  I know He is near.  .

I didn’t anticipate that this would be my theme tonight.  Who could imagine such an event? It is Advent, we are awaiting.  It is Gaudete Sunday so joy is filling our hearts that we are moving closer to the main event.  God has entered the world as a child.  But, we are reminded tonight of the story of that birth in a way, we have forgotten.  Perhaps, we don’t believe the story but Herod killed the first born.  The Holy Family fled to Egypt.  Tonight we know the pain of the death of innocents.  We see the violence and what it brings.  We see the face of evil.   It is time to turn and see the face of Love.  Turn to Christ.

Perhaps if we turn to Christ, we will find peace in the world.  Perhaps the debate should not be gun control but love, how to love.  We teach how to get along and it does not bring us peace.  What if we taught Christ who is the Prince of Peace?

Pray tonight – pray.

Let’s ask Blessed Mother, Mother of us all to comfort the suffering.

Hail Mary, Full of Grace, The Lord is with thee.  Blessed are thou amongst women and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.  Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Just praying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

