Disconnected holidays

Went on the annual holiday trek.  Everyone was well and we had a great time.  The experience was made better by the great disconnect – none of our gadgets could connect to the internet and the Tracfones don’t exactly get data!!  The same problem happened last year but the connections held longer and I could get messages out although I never could open a download.  This year the first day set the pace – nothing, something, nothing.  It was impossible to post, almost impossible to be bothered by work related e-mail.  Although they found us by land line!!!

What you discover after the first 48 hours of being disconnected is how to relate to others again.  You aren’t talking to someone who is texting at the same time.  Board games were discovered, laughter was heard.  And, I finally finished Jesus of Nazareth, Part II.  I could only read it in pieces so I was glad to have blocs of time to really read and digest it.  And, at this time of year, pray over it.  There is beautiful passage at the end of the epilogue which will haunt if you haven’t read it.  I suggest you do.  The Holy Father reminds us that after the fishes and loaves, Jesus went up the mountain to pray to the Father.  The apostles were on the boat in bad seas. Jesus saw them and went to them.  Then, the Holy Father says – that’s how it is for us.  The Lord is with the Father.  He sees us and comes to us.  He sees us.  That alone should haunt us but the whole will stay with you.

It is beautiful.  The man has a beautiful mind and soul.

I’ve come back to the real world now.  But the image and ideas have stayed.  I feel the Lord is close, even though far.   When I need Him, He is close. When you need Him, He sees you and comes.  I have no doubt of this but now I have the image, the thoughts about how and why.  My faith has been refreshed.   Now that I’m connected, I need to remember to disconnect more often.

I hope others will as well.  For what I learned, actually re-learned from my disconnected but highly interactive holiday, was to have a grateful heart. Love burns more intensely when your heart is thankful.  I thank the Lord for everything for it all does come from Him.

I lector this weekend and there will be more images to hang onto.   One of my favorites is the refrain of what will be the main song:  “Star of wonder, Star of night, Star with Royal Beauty Bright”.  May anyone who stumbles upon my blog have a beautiful start to the new Calendar year.  It seems to me are progressing rather rapidly through the Liturgical year already!!

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in belief, praise, thanks. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

