Post Benedict

I am still sad but so grateful to God that we had the gift of Joseph Ratzinger as Pope.  I also know that I can continue to learn and engage in conversation with him all the time through prayer and reading.  He is a great Pope no matter what the news or dissenters say. Why? – he told us about God.  God was the center of his life, his message.

I have yet to see anyone comment about the Bible passage read at the last general audience.  The reports tend to write about what he said.  But if you can, find the tape and see how serenely and radiantly he listens as the following is read in different languages:

From the Letter of St. Paul to the Colossans 1:3-6:

3We always give thanks to God, the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, when we pray for you,b 4for we have heard of your faith in Christ Jesus and the love that you have for all the holy ones 5because of the hope reserved for you in heaven. Of this you have already heard through the word of truth, the gospel,c 6that has come to you. Just as in the whole world it is bearing fruit and growing, so also among you, from the day you heard it and came to know the grace of God in truth,

The choice of reading must have been very purposeful.  It summarizes him and his message.  Such love.

Meanwhile the general meetings are taking place and the Conclave will get under way.  We need a pastor who will also give God priority, not administration, not pleasing the crowd.  We need a Pope who will continue to help with Christian unity.  We do not need a Pope with any other agenda but Christ who is the Way, the Truth and the Light.  So, I have adopted a cardinal to pray for through this period (here is the site).  My cardinal is Carlos Amigo Vallejo OFM.  I know nothing about him but will.

Finally tonight, I am praying for and with His Holiness, Benedict XVI.  And so, my blog will change as I create an online commitment to him.  This is not an anti-newpope message at all.  Whoever that person is, he will have my prayers.  But, saints need prayers too and so Benedict XVI has mine for all time.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in joy, love, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

