Easter Monday

Now that it is Easter Monday, I must acknowledge that I still like what Francis says.  Family called me on being petty about his actions.  I’ve been thinking about that. I suppose my example of naming his successor as a problems is petty unless of course you’re in a diocese that has been waiting months for a replacement.  This is where my mind was.  Some of us our being led by appointed administrators and need a shepherd.  I guess I don’t like the playing of favorites but understand the human need to have someone there.  Yes, I understand.

I’m still not sure I understand the Pope’s actions. However, it is becoming clear that he is minimizing the role.  The more he does so, the more people like it.  One of my relatives said that he likes him because he is one of us!  Benedict was too far above him.  I always saw Benedict as incredibly humble but this relative was put off by his intelligence, sense of entitlement expressed through the wealth he obviously enjoyed.  The media does a great job, doesn’t it?, in promoting certain ideas about people, more powerful than some of us who no matter how much we think the opposite will not be heard by people who say they respect us?.  Perhaps this is my problem with Francis, his is a media image right now – what is real?

Why suddenly has the Vatican press office itself come alive?  This bothers me too.  Pictures of crowds coming to see Benedict appear similar to those coming to see Francis?  Why now are the crowds actual sizes being reported?

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

