Mercy

We are headed for Divine Mercy Sunday.  As I read Benedict, he follows the liturgical year pretty closely so I am sure his reflections are on the topic of mercy.  Some of what I really like about Francis is his emphasis on mercy.  JPII, Benedict, Francis have this emphasis in common. Truly, it is the heart of the matter isn’t it?  God’s infinite love for us.  St. Therese of Lisieux talks about God stooping down appreciating every flower.  Everyone has their place in the heart and mind of God.  God loves us.

I often forget this simple fact.  More often, I fail to love.  I fail to see love around me.  Love, true love, has a beauty that is indescribable.  Some artists come close to capturing it but what I think is captured is their own expression of love.  Some must have had very big souls to express what was in their heart so well.  When I think of Benedict and my purpose tonight, I remember his love of Art and Music.  I remember his words about God.  Mostly, I remember the sound of love when he read and talked about God.  Sometimes, he looked transformed.  So, I pray that love of God transforms all of us.  May His grace fall upon us and help us create peace in our day, one person at a time, all people everywhere.  May Francis help us lead the way.

I don’t know if that is what Benedict is praying for, but it is what he helped teach me.  And, since I’m sure he is praying for Francis and us, I feel safe in stating it.

I am beginning to be very happy about Francis.  The more I read, the more I like.  I remembered something I learned about Benedict, something I forgot. I am not paying attention to news reports, I go directly to the original sources.  I read them or I watch the video, not the news summary.  It’s made all the difference!

I pray that I become transformed.  From St. Faustina found here:

 

“O Lord. I want to be completely transformed into Your mercy and to be Your living reflection. May the greatest of all divine attributes, that of Your unfathomable mercy, pass through my heart and soul to my neighbor.

 

Help me, O Lord, that my eyes may be merciful, so that I may never suspect or judge from appearances, but look for what is beautiful in my neighbors’ souls and come to their rescue.

 

Help me, O Lord, that my ears may be merciful, so that I may give heed to my neighbors’ needs and not be indifferent to their pains and moanings.

 

Help me, O Lord, that my tongue may be merciful, so that I should never speak negatively of my neighbor, but have a word of comfort and forgiveness for all.

 

Help me, O Lord, that my hands may be merciful and filled with good deeds, so that I may do only good to my neighbors and take upon myself the more difficult and toilsome tasks.

 

Help me, O Lord, that my feet may be merciful, so that I may hurry to assist my neighbor, overcoming my own fatigue and weariness (…)

 

Help me, O Lord, that my heart may be merciful so that I myself may feel all the sufferings of my neighbor. (…)

 

May Your mercy, O Lord, rest upon me” (Diary 163).

 

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in belief, love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

