Two Different Kinds of Sadness

Tonight I am experiencing two different types of sadness.  The first is sadness for our world and my country.  Why do people think they can go around bombing, killing and maiming people?  In particular, why are we killing children?  What goes through men’s minds when they are walking down a street full of families with bombs on their backs? The evil is beyond my comprehension.  I am saddened by what happened in Boston and the loss of life.

Second is my sadness that today was the anniversary of Benedict’s election and he is no longer Pope.  I remember the day very vividly because I did not like Cardinal Ratzinger.  I had never read him but was led to believe by others that he was awful.   So, I was unhappy he was elected and that he took the name Benedict made me think he was terribly manipulative – for a very strange reason.  I thought he purposely took the name Benedict because of the Malachi prophecy.  Strange to think like that….

Because I was upset I began to research him.  Right from the beginning what I read wasn’t what I was led to believe.  But, it took me six months to trust and from that moment, I was hooked on listening to him and reading him.  I became more knowledgeable about my faith.  But I also deepened my faith which had been quite shaken by my encounter with dishonesty among some priests and nuns I personally was acquainted with.  I miss him and hearing his voice.  I’ve written about this before and I don’t know if it is a shared memory but his voice is very distinctive.  It’s softness often conveyed a message of love.

I don’t know but I believe he is a great soul.  And so I pray for him tonight in thanksgiving.  He changed my life.  And, because I believe he is praying for us, each and everyone of us, I pray that my prayer aligns with his and that the Almighty will grant us all peace and healing.  May the love of God pierce every heart and may we turn evil away. Amen.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Just praying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

