Begging for the Church

It is my understanding that the former convent in which Benedict now resides housed contemplative orders who prayed for the Holy Father and the Church.  Different orders were commissioned for several years to do so.  I think it is reasonable to assume that in addition to meeting his physical needs, the convent also meets Benedict’s spiritual needs.  He is praying for the Church.  So tonight, I think I will pray for the Church in general.

Benedict did not move in until May 2 as May 1st was a day dedicated to St. Joseph.  I found this prayer that seems appropriate (you can find it here):

O Glorious Saint Joseph, you were chosen by God to be the foster father of Jesus, the most pure spouse of Mary, ever Virgin, and the head of the Holy Family. You have been chosen by Christ’s Vicar as the heavenly Patron and Protector of the Church founded by Christ.

Protect the Sovereign Pontiff and all bishops and priests united with him. Be the protector of all who labor for souls amid the trials and tribulations of this life; and grant that all peoples of the world may be docile to the Church without which there is no salvation.

Dear Saint Joseph, accept the offering I make to you. Be my father, protector, and guide in the way of salvation. Obtain for me purity of heart and a love for the spiritual life. After you example, let all my actions be directed to the greater glory of God, in union with the Divine Heart of Jesus, the Immaculate Heart of Mary, and your own paternal heart. Finally, pray for me that I may share in the peace and joy of your holy death.

Amen.

and, to Mary, in this month of May, who always looks over the Church and I think Pope Francis:

Hail Mary, full of Grace, the Lord is with thee.Blessed are thou amongst women, and blessed is the fruit of they womb, Jesus.
Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

And, may the Lord Bless and keep His loyal servant, Benedict XVI.  May he enjoy the company of Christ’s presence in his life now and forever. Amen.

 

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Just praying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

