Our Lady of Lourdes

Lourdes is flooded.  Benedict resigned on the Feast of Our Lady of Lourdes.  He is probably mindful about the place, its history and its meaning.  I am sure he is praying about it.

I have been confronted once again with life.  A childhood friend died a month ago.  I only found out tonight.  She was a mother of four teens.  She was young.  In the past two years, four childhood friends have died.  It makes you thoughtful, prayerful: ‘But, for the Grace of God go I’.

I decided to pray tonight for her and for all who are sick and suffering.  Breast cancer is a scourge so I am praying for a cure as well.  I am sure Benedict prays for the sick and suffering.  He seemed to have a special concern as Pope for the sick.  In the early days of his pontificate when his mobility was better, he often personally greeted and blessed them at the General Audiences.  I wonder how many still pray for him?  He is part of the prayer tonight and always!

Tonight I pray to Our Lady of Lourdes.  I pray she gives relief to the people in Lourdes.  I pray she always protects and prays for us, especially the sick.  I pray that she comforts Benedict.  I pray that she gives comfort to the soul of my friend and that she comforts her family here on earth.

A prayer to Our Lady of Lourdes found here

O Immaculate Virgin Mary, Mother of Mercy, you are the refuge of sinners, the health of the sick, and the comfort of the afflicted. You know my wants, my troubles, my sufferings. By your appearance at the Grotto of Lourdes you made it a privileged sanctuary where your favors are given to people streaming to it from the whole world. Over the years countless sufferers have obtained the cure for their infirmities – whether of soul, mind, or body. Therefore I come to you with limitless confidence to implore your motherly intercession. Obtain, O loving Mother, the grant of my requests. Through gratitude for Your favors, I will endeavor to imitate Your virtues, that I may one day share in Your glory.
Amen.

and another from here:

O glorious Mother of God, so powerful under your special title of Our Lady of Lourdes, to you we raise our hearts and hands to implore your powerful intercession in obtaining from the gracious Heart of Jesus all the helps and graces necessary for our spiritual and temporal welfare and for the special favor we so earnestly seek.

Our Lady of Lourdes, pray for us.
Saint Bernadette, pray for us.

The first prayer demands something of me, I will make every earnest effort to comply. Amen.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Just praying. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

