Reaping

I was struck in listening to today’s rather long gospel (http://www.usccb.org/bible/readings/032314.cfm) by this passage:

“Jesus said to them,
“My food is to do the will of the one who sent me
and to finish his work.
Do you not say, ‘In four months the harvest will be here’?
I tell you, look up and see the fields ripe for the harvest.
The reaper is already receiving payment
and gathering crops for eternal life,
so that the sower and reaper can rejoice together.
For here the saying is verified that ‘One sows and another reaps.’
I sent you to reap what you have not worked for;
others have done the work,
and you are sharing the fruits of their work.””

As some readers know I was, and am, struggling with Francis some times. I think most of my issues are media driven and are also signs of the times that I don’t know how to read.  This week one of those signs of the time emerged.  Francis was named leader of the year by Fortune 500.  Francis gets the credit for work begun or even done by Benedict.  Again – a media story but one that cuts to the quick and irritates me so that I cannot totally be at peace Francis.  I want to be clear – I like Francis but am sometimes not at peace.  Just when I think I am beginning to do so, something like this happens.

Today in a single moment of listening, I was put back on the path of acceptance and charity – “One sows and another one reaps”.  Amen

Christ sowed and they both reap.  JP II sowed, Benedict reaped.  Benedict sowed, Francis reaps.  Beautiful. Comforting. Affirming and Challenging!

What do I sow? What do I reap? Am I doing the Father’s will or my own?  Lots to pray about on this one.

As always, I pray for Pope Emeritus Benedict who sowed seeds of love.  I pray for Francis who reaps but also sows.  I pray that I will be more at peace understanding this.  Benedict’s name day was last week.  It seems fitting to close with a prayer to St. Joseph (from here)

O Glorious Saint Joseph,
you were chosen by God
to be the foster father of Jesus,
the most pure spouse of Mary, ever Virgin,
and the head of the Holy Family.
You have been chosen by Christ’s Vicar
as the heavenly Patron and Protector
of the Church founded by Christ.

Protect the Sovereign Pontiff
and all bishops and priests united with him.
Be the protector of all who labour for souls
amid the trials and tribulations of this life;
and grant that all peoples of the world
may be docile to the Church
without which there is no salvation.

Dear Saint Joseph,
accept the offering I make to you.
Be my father, protector,
and guide in the way of salvation.
Obtain for me purity of heart
and a love for the spiritual life.
After your example,
let all my actions be directed
to the greater glory of God,
in union with the Divine Heart of Jesus,
the Immaculate Heart of Mary,
and your own paternal heart.
Finally, pray for me that I may share
in the peace and joy of your holy death.

Amen

AMEN!

 

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Just praying, love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

