On the Road

We are all on the road – Pilgrims on a journey.  I got lost in my day yesterday and didn’t post but the theme was and is – on the road.  In the Gospel Reading yesterday we re-lived Jesus’ meeting with disciples on the road to Emmaus.  You can find the readings here:http://www.usccb.org/bible/readings/050414.cfm or Luke 24: 13-35.

In contemplating the reading, anyone of these questions is enough to ponder:

1.  What just did happen from the Crucifixion to the Resurrection?

2.  Would I recognize Jesus? Do I recognize Him even when near?

3.  What is it like to hear the news for the first time from people who were there?  Is this how I tell it? Is this how I hear it?

4. Do I listen to Scripture?

5.  Do I invite the Lord to stay?

6.  Do I recognize what is happening in the Breaking of the Bread?

7.  Am I travelling on the right road? Am I travelling with Jesus?

I am thinking about all of these questions.  Perhaps the one that inspired tonight’s thoughts are the last two. I am on the road, a pilgrim.  Sometimes I fall victim to bad forces on the road.  Sometimes, I take the wrong path.  Sometimes, I fall.  Sometimes, a fellow traveller picks me up.  All the time the Lord is travelling with me whether I am aware of it or not.

In his Regina Caeli on the Third Sunday of Easter in 2008 (April 6th), Benedict XVI offered an interesting reflection on this reading.  You can find it here: http://www.vatican.va/holy_father/benedict_xvi/angelus/2008/documents/hf_ben-xvi_reg_20080406_en.html

Toward the end is his little prayer – the prayer for this week:

“This marvellous Gospel text already contains the structure of Holy Mass: in the first part, listening to the Word through the Sacred Scriptures; in the second part, the Eucharistic liturgy and communion with Christ present in the Sacrament of his Body and his Blood. In nourishing herself at this two-fold table, the Church is constantly built up and renewed from day to day in faith, hope and charity. Through the intercession of Mary Most Holy, let us pray that in reliving the experience of the disciples of Emmaus every Christian and every community may rediscover the grace of the transforming encounter with the Risen Lord”

Mary Most Holy, I pray for your Church, may it be renewed.  May I be renewed and may we all discover the grace of the transforming encounter with the Risen Lord.  Amen

 

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in belief, joy, love. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

