“Do not let your hearts be troubled”

These are Jesus’ words in the Gospel today.  I confess to being greatly troubled often.  I should trust more.  I look at Benedict’s example, his profound trust in the Lord.  I wonder often when he learned the peace he had because of this trust.  Sometimes, I wish I could sit down and ask him.  I am sure it is in his writings somewhere.  I am too preoccupied to hunt down a passage that might speak to this.  He rarely talked about his own spiritual life.  One has to think that his prayer life was and is very deep.  This gives me comfort in my times when my heart is troubled.  Someone who carried greater weight on his shoulders than I can possibly imagine did so with a great and humble faith.  He journeyed with the Lord.  He still does.  And so, tonight I pray that the Lord hears Benedict’s prayers.  I am sure that his prayers are for the benefit of all and for the Church.

As for me, I need to remember that Christ is the Way.  I need to pick up my cross and bear it.  I need to do so with great love and honesty.  I need to do so by being WITH the Lord.  Funny how a small word can be packed with so much meaning.  The Lord’s way will lead us home.  It fills me with joy.  It times of a troubled heart – joy is an important antidote. Today’s responsorial psalm is my prayer – Benedict prayed it today!

R/ (22) Lord, let your mercy be on us, as we place our trust in you.
or:
R/ Alleluia.
Exult, you just, in the LORD;
praise from the upright is fitting.
Give thanks to the LORD on the harp;
with the ten-stringed lyre chant his praises.
R/ Lord, let your mercy be on us, as we place our trust in you.
or:
R/ Alleluia.
Upright is the word of the LORD,
and all his works are trustworthy.
He loves justice and right;
of the kindness of the LORD the earth is full.
R/ Lord, let your mercy be on us, as we place our trust in you.
or:
R/ Alleluia.
See, the eyes of the LORD are upon those who fear him,
upon those who hope for his kindness,
To deliver them from death
and preserve them in spite of famine.
R/ Lord, let your mercy be on us, as we place our trust in you.
or:
R/ Alleluia.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in joy, love, praise. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

