Return

My title is sort of a personal pun. After being away from blogging, I’ve returned.  I was gone for two days, looking as if I have abanondoned my blogging but – I have returned.

I traveled to a funeral.  These are always sobering and as I age, increasing in frequency.  In your kindness, say a prayer for my friend and his family.  My friend was a father and grandfather, a husband and brother.  He was a recovering alcoholic and drug addict.  At one time he was homeless.  His wife, one of the strongest women I’ve met, practised tough love.  After awhile, she won.  And so did God, he was back in Church and volunteered at a local soup kitchen, helping others.  He was the prodigal son who returned.  Or was he? Perhaps he never was lost.  Does it matter? No, I don’t think so.  My friend loved and was loved.  He gave of himself.  He lived.  He was a child of God, who never abandons his children. God loves and doesn’t lose us.  We lose Him.

I pray to the Lord for my friend’s soul and for His consolation to the family.  I pray, I beg, that the mercy He extends to individuals, He will extend to all.  May we hear His call, that whisper of love in our hearts.  If we do, we will not kill and maim our brothers and sisters.  Lord, do not abandon us – Shepherd Us!

Mary Mother of God, pray for us.

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

