One more time

I haven’t been able to write in many, many months.  I feel lost and abandoned.  Recent church news doesn’t inspire me.  However, my faith is not in Francis nor in his cardinals.  My faith is in Jesus Christ.

Today is a first Saturday.  In June, I decided to take up this devotional practice once again.  About 20 years ago, I used to go to a Marian shrine on first Saturdays and I would say the Glorious Mysteries and contemplate the seven sorrows.  Last month I went to a local shrine and said the Glorious Mysteries.  I had forgotten about the seven sorrows all together.  Today at another shrine, I was leaving when all of a sudden it dawned on me that I had not contemplated the seven sorrows.  And, a little voice in my brain said – you can write about them tonight.  I guess this was my nudge to try again.

And so here are the seven sorrows, a Hail Mary is said after each.  There are more sophisticated meditations and practices.  I am just contemplating and praying.

  1. The prophecy of Simeon. 
  2. The flight into Egypt. 
  3. The loss of the Child Jesus in the temple. 
  4. The meeting of Jesus and Mary on the Way of the Cross
  5. The Crucifixion.
  6. The taking down of the Body of Jesus from the Cross.
  7. The burial of Jesus.

Mary, Most Holy, pray for us.

I don’t know if the “little voice” was an inspiration or my own invention.  I haven’t thought of writing because my negativity probably does damage.  However, I took “the little voice” as inspiration.  I will hopefully write again soon.  Maybe, I have found solid ground again.  My faith is in the Trinity:  Glory be to the Father, to the Son and to the Holy Spirit!

About sisterbernice

I am a practicing Catholic in love with the Lord. Whatever his failings, I recognize the same in our Pope Emeritus, Benedict XVI. He serves as one of my great teachers. A truly misunderstood figure, I hope all who have reviled him might actually read him and find their way to God.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

